top of page

Goodbye Someday.


First off that World Series was amazing, and Game 7 was the perfect end to it all. The end of someday. The cubs finally did it. Only a few brands congratulated the cubs including: Nike, ESPN, Master Card and Budweiser. When I was watching I remember seeing a shorter Budweiser spot that I really liked using clips from the series and Game 7 even, but I only found a 2 minutes spot which is good but not what I remembered. Anyway, I've chose this nike spot because though I think it comes off a bit bland standing alone, it was the perfect play to make right after the series in all the hysteria floating around after the win. I don't even like the cubs and I was so happy for them, and then this ad played and now nike was part of the celebration through this sort of cute narrative of the kid practicing. The ad is quieter than most and provided the opportunity to step back and enjoy the moment, and that's all anyone needed then but it was brought to them by Nike.

I think the objective is very clear here and it is simply to throw Nike into the mix of all these World Series celebrations by congratulating the cubs in a simple clever way. By releasing this ad, Nike became a part of the night—and it's a night a lot of people will never forget. It's also deep in Nike's DNA, they're the brand of winners so they had to make a winning ad. Then the copy: Goodbye Someday, is essentially Just did it.

I believe the target of this ad was all cubs fans and supporters, really anyone who watched that game and didn't cheer for the Indians because the whole finish was enchanting and Nike was able to join in with this ad. Interestingly by dressing the kid in all Cubs baseball gear, Nike kept the focus on the game and the kid and not any of their products which I think is clearly the right move. All they needed here was to join the moment and this did just that to a nice effect.


 MANIFeST: 

I started this blog to detail my experience in the M-School​. Posts will include reflections from class sessions and Ad Agency site visits as well as weekly Ad finds with an accompanying analysis.  

 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page