top of page

a few notes on our (original) design


Assuming we stick with my design for the bags, most people who see it will probably never know what the idea behind it was, what it's inspired by, or how it was made so I'm making this post.

It really started from considering our conventions, as it should. We all know how most work promoting social causes can come off as overly daunting, disheartening, and just damn sad. The classic example is the ASPCA commercial, which immediately turns people off and shuts them down because it's so depressing. So we knew we had to be different, if we came at this from the hunger angle threw on a bunch of heavy facts with no positive outlet for people to take action, the message would fail. We also knew that we wanted to center around hunger in children and use their influence in the home to promote real change in their parent's habits.

So we wanted a cartoon style that at the same time was attractive to the more affluent population that frequents Whole Foods in Playa Vista (ideally where we want to sell our bags for $5). Immediately I thought of one thing: prints. This segment is dominated by designer prints.

So I wanted a print.. But one more thing, I needed to adapt a cartoon style that's still quite elegant and attractive, and I had to portray rotting fruit. I remembered Lichtenstein's dot style.

The dots worked perfectly to show an overripe banana, and he had already drawn a banana with the thick outline style that would work. After pulling out one of the bananas above, fixing it and applying the dot grid I had the banana and I just had to make the pattern.


 MANIFeST: 

I started this blog to detail my experience in the M-School​. Posts will include reflections from class sessions and Ad Agency site visits as well as weekly Ad finds with an accompanying analysis.  

 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page